Missouri Ranks as the 3rd Worst State for Teen Driving in The Nation
In a recent report of the best and worst states for teen drivers, Missouri came in at number 48, making it the 3rd worst state for teen driving in the nation.
To determine each state’s ranking, the study took into consideration three main factors, including safety, economic environment and driving laws.
Let’s take a closer look at driving laws for teens in Missouri.
Missouri Graduated Teen Driver License Program
A graduated driver’s license program is in place to help teen drivers become more experienced before they can receive their full drivers’ license.
At age 15, teens are required in Missouri to obtain a learner’s permit and log 40 hours of practice with a parent, legal guardian or instructor before receiving an intermediate license at age 16. With an intermediate license, teens are restricted in terms of who they drive with and what hours they drive, in order to keep teens safe.
Teens may apply for a full license once they turn 18-years-old.
Teens Have the Highest Risk of Car Accidents Than Any Other Age Group
Although the hours of practice behind the wheel are extremely important, teen drivers are at a higher risk because they are new drivers.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), car crashes are the leading cause of teen deaths. In fact, 3,255 teens died in car crashes in 2017.
As mentioned, inexperience is a major factor in teen accidents. Another leading factor is distracted driving. The main culprit is cell phone use behind the wheel, but other distractions, such as talking to passengers, especially other teen passengers, can be incredibly dangerous.
- Distracted driving is responsible for 58% of teen crashes.
- The risk of a fatal accident doubles when a teen has an additional passenger in the car.
- 11 teens die in crashes caused by texting and driving every day.
Safety Tips for Teen Drivers
In order to stay safe on the roads, teens should follow these important tips.
Don’t Drive Distracted – Keep your eyes on the road and don’t use your phone while driving. It’s illegal to text in drive as a teen in Missouri.
Always Wear a Seat Belt– Nearly half of all accident fatalities involve victims who were not wearing their seatbelts. Always wear a seat belt and ensure everyone in your car is wearing one too.
Don’t Speed– Follow the speed limit and make sure there is enough space between you and the car in front of you. This allows more time to break and helps prevent accidents.
Your Kansas City Lawyers Are Here to Help
If you or someone you love have been seriously injured in a car accident, call the Kansas City Car Accident Lawyers at the Goss Law Firm at 816-888-5000 to speak about your situation for free.
When you call, an experienced lawyer will listen to your story, answer any questions you may have and provide legal advice to help you during this difficult time. There is never a fee for the initial consultation. Our compassionate team is dedicated to protecting your rights and helping you move forward with your life. Give us a call today.
The Goss Law Firm — Your Kansas City Personal Injury Attorneys